Driving Central America & South America.

Trip Reports, Driving Advice, Photos and More!

travel from so. fl to san carlos panama

Tcat Left 2
11 replies [Go to the last post ]
Tcat Right 2
garymeares@yahoo.com's picture

hi
we own a house on the pacific coast in panama. we would like to drive a toyota sienna van with surfboards, hdtv, and small bedroom furniture. we wanted the most direct route -no sight seeing. it's a marathon trip.

we have bought some books and a map from amazon.com. we have never done anything like this before. Is there anyone who can give us tips; best books and maps, which country requires insurance, bandidos and documentation.

we plan to leave van, surfbooards, household items there once we arrive. since we are not retirees they charge 5% duty tax and they jack the values through the roof. how expensive is this trip. a 20' cargo van is about 4000usd before duty tax.

I am a teacher and would like to leave around 6-16. van is a 1998 totyota sienna with a brand new engine , excellent tires and I will fix anything else.

please give us some feedback. is there a caravan heading south?

thanks,
gary
[email]garymeares@yahoo.com[/email]
[email]mearesg@palmbeach.k12.fl.us[/email]

atg200's picture

try to ship it instead - its most likely cheaper and more hassle free. you only want to do the drive to sightsee along the way.

robertdjung's picture

yeah to do it straight would be around... hmmm. I'd say 70 hours driving time.

atg200's picture

ok, i'm back from driving through central america now.

for sure the cheapest way to get it there is to ship it. i talked to some guys in costa rica that shipped a 4runner on an empty dole cargo ship out of delaware for about $500.